Where has the time gone?

Things are not going well. A whole 4 weeks have passed since my last post and I’ve only completed 2 more lessons of the photography course. And I still haven’t taken a single photo yet. It’s a bad time of year for me to be trying to do this stuff. Why? It’s July. This is when Christmas markets have to be organised….. *sigh*

I sell my jewellery on Etsy and am a team leader in 2 regional Etsy teams, both of which are running Etsy Made Local Christmas Markets this year. On the same weekend. These are curated events run entirely by unpaid team leaders with a little bit of sponsorship from Etsy. Applications to sell at these markets closed 2 weeks ago. Since then I’ve spent an afternoon, with 2 more team leaders, wading through applications from members of team A and a whole day, with 4 other team leaders, sorting through applications from team B. And just to make it a bit more “interesting”, team A and team B are based in towns that are 150 miles apart and, technically, in different countries. Even if the politicians disagree with me on that last point.

So, yet again, I’m busy doing things for other people and not getting my own stuff done. Nothing new there, business as usual.

What have I actually done on the photography course then? Well, I had fun creating a pretty mood board on Pinterest:

From that, I’ve decided on the photographic style that I want for my brand. Yay! Now I’m supposed to create an on-trend colour and texture palette to use in my photos. That’s a tough one. I’m oblivious to trends, always have been. My cynical brain thinks trends are artificial, invented by cunning marketing people who just want to sell us stuff we don’t need so we can be “fashionable”.

Oh heck, I forgot. I want to sell stuff too, damn it. Okay, I guess I’ll have to get my head round this trend malarky after all. That could take a while. 😦

But at least the blog is progressing nicely because I’ve just figured out how to get a Pinterest board to show up in a post. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Where has the time gone?

    1. Thanks, Lucy. 🙂 Playing with Pinterest does count as “me” time because it’s fun. It’s just a shame that WordPress will only show 50 pins from the board (which currently has 67 pins on it and may acquire a few more before I’m done).

      On the other hand, trying to follow WordPress instructions on how to post a board here was not fun at all. What the instructions DIDN’T warn me about was that a tiny bit of the address wasn’t copying across because the smart-arse website was truncating it. Took me over an hour to work that one out. Seven seemingly insignificant characters turned out to be absolutely critical to getting the result I wanted. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. lucylawrencedesigns

        Well done working that out I haven’t a clue how to do that! I find that with most things tho, that the instructions leave out one important step that is crucial or the computer just does it’s own thing. I managed to add my fb page and twitter to my blog *feeling pleased* and it wasn’t that difficult. It amazes me how much we have to learn to run our businesses 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Making Progress…. Slowly – Picture this

Leave a Reply

